Procedure of admission for master’s degree program

1. Master’s degree in Kazakh-American University (hereinafter KAU) can be obtained by individuals who have completed higher educational programs on following specialties:
6М050600 – Economics
6М050700 – Management
6М050700 – Management (MBA)
2. Formation of a contingent of undergraduates of the University is carried out carried out through the placement of state educational request (educational grants) for scientific and pedagogical staff training, as well as personal funding and other sources.
Citizens of the Republic of Kazakhstan State shall ensure the provision of the right to receive on a competitive basis in accordance with the state educational order free postgraduate education if the education they receive at this level for the first time, except for military and special schools.
Individuals without citizenship, permanently living in Kazakhstan can receive free postgraduate education on a competitive basis within the framework of state educational request if education at this level is received for the first time, except for military and special schools.
Training of foreigners in the master’s degree program is carried out on a fee basis. Right to receive free postgraduate education on a competitive basis for foreign students within the framework of state education request is regulated by international agreements of the Republic of Kazakhstan.
3. The admission of individuals is carried out on a competitive basis and based on the results of entrance exams.
4. Admission for master’s degree program indicating the preparation of specialties announced through mass media not later than fifteen calendar days before the date of receiving the documents.
5. Application forms to master studies can be submitted from 3 to 31 July.
Entrance exams in foreign languages are held from 10 to 15 of August, in the specialty from 16 to 20 of August, admission enrollment till 25 of August.
Complex testing for training in the profile master’s degree program with training in English is conducted from 10 to 15 August.
6. Admission for master’s degree program individuals who have mastered the educational programs of higher education.
7. Individuals, who received documents on education in foreign educational organizations, for admission to the master’s degree program in the educational organizations of the Republic of Kazakhstan in accordance with the received level of education and the profile of training, it is necessary to pass the procedure for the recognition or nostrification of educational documents.
Documents about education issued by foreign educational organizations are recognized on the territory of the Republic of Kazakhstan in accordance with international treaties (agreements).
8. Individuals applying for master program submit following documents to the Admission Committee of the university:
1) written request (application form) to the head of institution;
2) copy of a document on higher education;
3) certificate of test passing on programs, pointed in paragraph 59 of these Rules (if available);
4) copy of personnel records book and document confirming employment (for persons having employment records);
5) 6 photos of 3*4 cm size;
6) medical certificate of health – form №086-У;
7) photocopy of identity card;
8) list of research and scientific-methodical works (if available).
Copies of documents have to be submitted together with originals. After authentication the originals are given back to the owners.
Together with copies of the documents indicated in this clause, the original is provided for reconciliation. After reconciliation, the originals are returned.
9. Individuals entering to the master’s degree program takes entrance exams:
1) one of foreign languages (English, French, German; Arabic language for those entering the specialty, requiring knowledge of the Arabic language);
2) according to specialty.
Individuals entering to the scientific and pedagogical master’s degree program, including training in English, can also pass choose complex testing consisting of a testing for determining readiness for training in Kazakh or Russian (optional) and a testing by specialty in English.
Individuals entering to the profile master’s degree program, with training in English, pass a complex testing consisting of a testing for determining of readiness for training in Kazakh or Russian (optional) and a testing by specialty in English.
The entrance examination in a foreign language for a master's degree program and complex testing for training in the scientific and pedagogical master's degree program, including the training in English, and in the profile master's degree program with training in English is conducted by the National Testing Center of the Ministry of Education and Science of the Republic of Kazakhstan.
Based on the results of the entrance examination in a foreign language, a complex testing for training in the scientific and pedagogical master's degree program, including training in English, and in the profile master's degree program with training in English issues to applicants a certificate. At the same time, the university admission committee verifies the authenticity of the represented certificates.
The entrance examination is carried out independently by higher educational institutions, which carry out admission to the educational programs of postgraduate education. At the same time, applicants take an entrance examination in their specialty only in the university they are enrolled in.
10. Individuals who have international certificates certifying ownership of a foreign language in accordance with the Common European Framework (standards) of language proficiency are exempted from entrance examination in a foreign language in the master's degree in the following exams:
- English: Test of English as a Foreign Language Institutional Testing Programm (TOEFL ITP – not less than 460 points), Test of English as a Foreign Language Institutional Testing Programm Internet-based Test (TOEFL IBT, a threshold point - not less than 87), (TOEFL threshold score – at least 560 points), International English Language Tests System (IELTS, a threshold point - not less than 6.0);
- German: Deutsche Sprachprufung fur den Hochschulzugang (DSH, Niveau С1/ level С1), TestDaF-Prufung (Niveau C1/ level С1);
- French: Test de Franзais International™ (TFI - not below the level of B1 on the reading and listening sections), Diplome d'Etudes en Langue franзaisе (DELF, level В2), Diplome Approfondi de Langue franзaisе (DALF, level С1), Тest de connaissance du franзais (TCF - not less than 400 points).
11. The enrollment of individuals into the Master's degree program is carried out on the basis results of the entrance examinations or complex testing in the scientific and pedagogical Master's degree program in English training, or in the profile Master's degree program in English training, which scored the following points:
to the scientific and pedagogical master's degree program in foreign language - at least 50 points and in the specialty - at least 50 points, and to the profile master's degree in a foreign language at least 30 points and in the specialty - at least 50 points.
for training in the scientific-pedagogical master's degree program in English training, and profile master's degree program in English training- at least 19 points, including the test for determining readiness for training - at least 5 points, on the test in the specialty: with the choice of one correct answer - at least 6 points, with the choice of one or more correct answers - at least 8 points.
12. For education on state educational order enrolled those who obtain the highest scores on the entrance exams in the foreign language and in specialty:
1) for scientific and pedagogical master's degree program not less than 150 points;
2) for the profile of the master's degree program at least 130 points.
For training on the state educational order in profile master's degree program in English training, are enrolled on the basis of the entrance exam results at least 25 points on a competitive basis.
Individuals having certificates of passing test in a foreign language (English, French, German) indicated in paragraph 10 of these Rules shall count for the highest score on a 100-point grading scale.
In order to participate in the competition for the state educational order in the scientific and pedagogical master's degree program, including in English training, and the profile master's degree program in English training, applicants submit an application, an education document (original), a comprehensive test certificate, a copy of the identity document until August 17. In the application, the applicant indicates specialty and institution of higher education from the list approved by the authorized body in the field of education.
The competition for training on the state educational order in the scientific and pedagogical master's degree program, including in English training, and profile master's degree program in English training is conducted by the republican competitive commission created by the authorized body in the field of education, until August 22 in the context of specialties.
Vacant places on the state educational order are awarded by the decision of the competitive commission for other specialties with high passing points, claimed by the labor market.
An order of the authorized body in the field of education is issued on the basis of the decision of the republican competitive commission an order of the authorized body in the field of education.
With graduate students who are enrolled in the state educational order, a working contract is concluded for at least three years after completion of training.
The competition for the state educational order is carried out in accordance with:
1) with points of entrance examination in the specialty;
2) with the points of the entrance exam in foreign language according to the certificate or with the points of the certificate of passing the test according to the programs indicated in paragraph 10 of these Rules (if any).
When awarding the state educational order at the expense of the local budget, a three-part contract is drawn up between the akimat, graduate student and university.
Citizens who are enrolled in the state educational order at the expense of the local budget are required to work in the region in the direction of the local executive body for at least three years after graduation from the university.
 

 

The transfer system is estimated on a 100-point grading scale

Points on a 100-point grading scale
 
 
Scores on 5-point grading scale
95-100
Excellent (5)
90-94
85-89
Good (4)
80-84
75-79
70-74
Satisfactory (3)
65-69
60-64
55-59
50-54
30-49
Unsatisfactory (2)*
 
0-29

* profile master's degree program evaluation unsatisfactory correspond to scores from 0 to 29.
 
  
100-point grading scale

Types of testing
 
Form of tasks
 
Number of tasks
 
Examination language
 
Points
 
Threshold score
test for determining of readiness for training
with the choice of one correct answer
         
 
           30
Kazakh or Russian (optional)
         
 
30
 
 
5
test in the specialty
with the choice of one correct answer
          
 
30
English
         
 
30
         
 
6
with the choice of one or more correct answers
         
 
20
English
  
 
40
 
 
8
Total
-
80
-
100
19

Порядок приема в магистратуру

 1. В магистратуру Казахско-Американского университета (далее КАУ) принимаются лица, освоившие профессиональные учебные программы высшего образования по следующим специальностям:

6М050600 – Экономика;
6М050700 – Менеджмент;
6М050700 – Менеджмент (МВА).
       2. Формирование контингента магистрантов университета, осуществляется посредством размещения государственного образовательного заказа на подготовку научных и педагогических кадров, а также оплаты обучения за счет собственных средств граждан и иных источников.
      Гражданам Республики Казахстан государство обеспечивает предоставление права на получение на конкурсной основе в соответствии с государственным образовательным заказом бесплатного послевузовского образования, если образование этого уровня они получают впервые, за исключением военных, специальных учебных заведений.
      Лица без гражданства, постоянно проживающие в Республике Казахстан, могут получить на конкурсной основе в соответствии с государственным образовательным заказом бесплатное послевузовское образование, если образование этого уровня они получают впервые, за исключением военных, специальных учебных заведений.
      Обучение иностранцев в магистратуре осуществляется на платной основе. Право на получение иностранцами на конкурсной основе в соответствии с государственным образовательным заказом бесплатного послевузовского образования определяется международными договорами Республики Казахстан.
       3. Прием лиц в магистратуру осуществляется на конкурсной основе по результатам вступительных экзаменов.
      4. Прием в магистратуру с указанием специальностей подготовки объявляется через средства массовой информации не позднее пятнадцати календарных дней до даты начала приема документов.         
       5. Прием заявлений поступающих в магистратуру проводится с 3 по 31 июля.
       Вступительные экзамены по иностранным языкам в магистратуру проводятся с 10 по 15 августа, по специальности с 16 по 20 августа, зачисление - до 25 августа.
       Комплексное тестирование для обучения в профильной магистратуре с английским языком обучения проводится с 10 по 15 августа.
      6. В магистратуру принимаются лица, освоившие образовательные программы высшего образования.
      7. Лицам, получившим документы об образовании в зарубежных организациях образования, для поступления в магистратуру в организациях образования Республики Казахстан в соответствии с полученным уровнем образования и профилем подготовки необходимо пройти процедуру признания или нострификации документов об образовании.
      Документы об образовании, выданные зарубежными организациями образования, признаются на территории Республики Казахстан в соответствии с международными договорами (соглашениями).
8. Лица, поступающие в магистратуру, подают в Приемную комиссию университета следующие документы:
1) заявление на имя руководителя организации;
2) копия  документа о высшем образовании;
3) копию сертификата о сдаче теста по программам, указанным в пункте 59 настоящих Правил (в случае их наличия);
4) личный листок по учету кадров и документ, подтверждающий трудовую деятельность (для лиц, имеющих трудовой стаж);
5) шесть фотографий размером 3x4 сантиметров;
6) медицинскую справку формы 086-У;
7) копию удостоверения личности;
8) список научных и научно-методических работ (в случае их наличия).
Вместе с копиями документов, указанных в настоящем пункте, предоставляется оригинал для сверки. После проведения сверки оригиналы возвращаются.
      9. Лица, поступающие в магистратуру сдают вступительные экзамены:
      1) по одному из иностранных языков по выбору (английский, французский, немецкий; по арабскому языку для лиц, поступающих на специальности, требующие знание арабского языка);
      2) по специальности.
Лица, поступающие в научно-педагогическую магистратуру, в том числе с английским языком обучения, также на выбор могут сдать комплексное тестирование, состоящее из теста на определение готовности к обучению на казахском или русском языках (по выбору) и теста по специальности на английском языке.
       Лица, поступающие в профильную магистратуру с английским языком обучения, сдают комплексное тестирование, состоящее из теста на определение готовности к обучению на казахском или русском языках (по выбору) и теста по специальности на английском языке.
Вступительный экзамен по иностранному языку в магистратуру и комплексное тестирование для обучения в научно-педагогической магистратуре, в том числе с английским языком обучения, и профильной магистратуре с английским языком обучения проводятся Национальным центром тестирования Министерства образования и науки Республики Казахстан.
По результатам вступительного экзамена по иностранному языку, комплексного тестирования для обучения в научно-педагогической магистратуре, в том числе с английским языком обучения, и профильной магистратуре с английским языком обучения выдается сертификат. При этом приемная комиссия университета проверяет подлинность представляемых сертификатов.
Вступительный экзамен по специальности проводится самостоятельно вузами, осуществляющими прием на образовательные программы послевузовского образования. При этом поступающие сдают вступительный экзамен по специальности только в том вузе, в который поступают.
      10. Лица, имеющие международные сертификаты, подтверждающие владение иностранным языком в соответствии с общеевропейскими компетенциями (стандартами) владения иностранным языком, освобождаются от вступительного экзамена по иностранному языку в магистратуру по следующим экзаменам:
      английский язык: Test of English as a Foreign Language Institutional Testing Programm (TOEFL ITP – не менее 460 баллов), Test of English as a Foreign Language Institutional Testing Programm Internet-based Test (TOEFL IBT, пороговый балл – не менее 87), (TOEFL пороговый балл – не менее 560 баллов), International English Language Tests System (IELTS, пороговый балл – не менее 6.0);
      немецкий язык: Deutsche Sprachprufung fur den Hochschulzugang (DSH, Niveau С1/уровень C1), TestDaF-Prufung (Niveau C1/уровень C1);
      французский язык: Test de Franзais International™ (TFI – не ниже уровня В1 по секциям чтения и аудирования), Diplome d’Etudes en Langue franзaise (DELF, уровень B2), Diplome Approfondi de Langue franзaise (DALF, уровень C1), Test de connaissance du franзais (TCF – не менее 400 баллов).
       11. Зачисление лиц в магистратуру осуществляется по итогам вступительных экзаменов или комплексного тестирования в научно-педагогическую магистратуру, в том числе с английским языком обучения, или в профильную магистратуру на английском языке обучения, набравших следующие баллы:
в научно-педагогическую магистратуру по иностранному языку - не менее 50 баллов и по специальности - не менее 50 баллов, а в профильную магистратуру по иностранному языку - не менее 30 баллов и по специальности - не менее 50 баллов.
для обучения в научно-педагогической магистратуре, в том числе с английским языком обучения, и профильной магистратуре на английском языке - не менее 19 баллов, в том числе по тесту на определение готовности к обучению - не менее 5 баллов, по тесту по специальности: с выбором одного правильного ответа - не менее 6 баллов, с выбором одного или нескольких правильных ответов - не менее 8 баллов.
12.  На обучение по государственному образовательному заказу зачисляются лица, набравшие наивысшие баллы по сумме вступительных экзаменов по иностранному языку и по специальности:
      Лицам, имеющим сертификаты о сдаче теста по иностранному языку (английский, французский, немецкий), указанные в пункте 10 настоящих Типовых правил, засчитывается наивысший балл по 100-балльной системе оценок.
13. Для участия в конкурсе по государственному образовательному заказу в научно-педагогической магистратуре, в том числе с английским языком обучения, и профильной магистратуре с английским языком обучения поступающие подают заявление, документ об образовании (подлинник), сертификат комплексного тестирования, копию документа, удостоверяющего личность, в ВУЗ до 17 августа. В заявлении поступающий указывает специальность и ВУЗ из перечня, утвержденного уполномоченным органом в области образования.
     15. Конкурс на государственный образовательный заказ проводится в соответствии:
 настоящих Правил (в случае их наличия).
Баллы по 5-балльной системе оценок
Отлично (5)
Хорошо (4)
Удовлетворительно (3)
50–54
30–49
Неудовлетворительно (2)*
0–29
      * в профильной магистратуре оценке "неудовлетворительно" по иностранному языку соответствуют баллы от 0 до 29.

Виды теста
Форма заданий
Количество заданий
Язык сдачи
Баллы
Порого вый балл
Тест на определение готовности к обучению
с выбором одного правильного ответа
30
Казахский или русский (по выбору)
30
5
Тест по специальности
с выбором одного правильного ответа
30
Английский язык
30
6
с выбором одного или нескольких правильных ответов
20
Английский язык
40
8
Всего
-
80
-
100
19